Red Wolves release 2016 football schedule - The Herald: Sports

Red Wolves release 2016 football schedule

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, March 4, 2016 10:19 am

Three nationally televised games, and six home games highlight Arkansas State’s 2016 football schedule, that was released yesterday by the league office. The defending league champs will open up the season with a home game against the Toledo Rockets, a team that has beaten A-State the last two seasons.

 The Red Wolves will then travel to take on former Head Coach Gus Malzahn in Auburn on Sept. 10th and to Utah State on Sept. 17th before closing out the non-conference slate with a match-up against in-state foe UCA on Sept. 24th.

 The conference slate will kickoff with a Wednesday night home game against Georgia Southern that will be televised by ESPN2. The game will mark the first time A-State and Georgia Southern have met as conference foes. 

 A-State will take on South Alabama on Oct. 15th for the 2016 homecoming game.

 The rest of the Sun Belt schedule is highlighted by a nationally televised game at Georgia State on either Thursday, Nov. 3rd or Friday, Nov. 4th. The game will be televised on ESPNU, and the exact date and time of the game will be determined once the NFL releases their schedule.

 Senior day will be on Saturday, Nov. 12 when A-State hosts New Mexico State.

 The Red Wolves will travel to Troy for their final nationally televised midweek on Thursday, Nov. 17th. The game will be televised by ESPNU.

 The full schedule is listed below.

Sat., Sept. 3 vs Toledo

Sat., Sept. 10 at Auburn

Sat., Sept. 17 at Utah State

Sat., Sept. 24 vs. Central Arkansas

Wed., Oct. 5 vs Georgia Southern* (ESPN2)

Sat., Oct. 15 vs South Alabama* (Homecoming)

Sat., Oct. 29 vs Louisiana-Monroe*

Thu., Nov. 3, or Fri., Nov. 4 at Georgia State* (ESPNU)

Sat., Nov. 12 vs New Mexico State* (Senior Day)

Thu., Nov. 17 at Troy* (ESPNU)

Sat., Nov. 26 at Louisiana-Lafayette*

Sat., Dec. 3 at Texas State*

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.

Instagram

Online poll

Loading…

Stocks